Importance of Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology

Today’s article of mine is on ‘Nakshatra’. In previous times, ancient people use to calculate or predict through the position of stars in the sky. These positions use to help them understand the relations between cosmic Stars and the effect it has on human lives. So, what are these Nakshatras. 

Each 12 Zodiac in an Astrology Horoscope is divided into 30 degrees and there are in total 27 Nakshatras, which represent heavenly abodes into which our fruits of this birth and the previous births are carved. As per vedic astrology, these Nakshatras are the units, which are the store houses of the Cosmic Powers which bestows goodness or suddenness based on the karmic (present/past deeds) of the individual. These Nakshatras are symbols in the skies with brightening Stars in their constellation. In Vedic Astrology, position of a planet, degrees and the Nakshatras play a very important role in determining the type of the individual, habitual action and the fate of the soul. Understanding the Nakshatra need a deep understanding of the ancient Vedic System especially the knowledge of the Atharva Veda. 

It is said that Atharva Veda is one of the oldest literary collection regarding Ancient Medicines and also contains Mantras, Hymns, Prose in praise of the lord. As I read these scriptures, I am trying to understand many thoughts shared and I am trying to connect between this ancient wisdom and astrology. It may take years for me to fully Understand Atharva Veda but as a seeker of ancient knowledge, I am trying to slowly understand the thoughts shared by the ancient knowledgeable humans. It’s a wonder as to how such wonderful piece of literature, is written in beautiful hymns and have the seeds of ancient medicine. Understanding Nakshatras is also one of them. Even Yajur Veda have the list of the Nakshatras. 

There are various mythological stories about the Nakshatras and many of us aware of them, however for those who are very new to these Nakshatras in Vedic Astrology, let me share a few thoughts. 

As per one of the mythological stories, It is said that King Prajapati, son of Lord Brahma gave her 27 daughter’s hand in marriage to Lord Moon. These 27 daughters are the 27 Nakshatras. Moon phases through each of these Nakshatras, which creates mood fluctuations in any individual. As per the Mythology, the waxing and waning of the Moon is due to a curse which he has to undergo as He used to have extra feelings for one of his wife, Rohini Nakshatra. Due to that curse, Lord Moon was in pathetic condition. Seeing the condition of their husband, all 27 wives of Lord Moon prayed to Lord Shiva and by his blessings the curse ended. However, it remained through the waxing and waning of the Moon. 

There are many who are of the view that there are 28 Nakshatras and that the Abhijit Nakshatra is now merged to give us 27 Nakshatras. The Abhijit Nakshatra actually falls in the sign of capricorn. As per some renowned scholars, these Abhijit Nakshatra is inserted into the Uttara Asadha Nakshatra having degrees to 5 degree to 10 degree of Capricorn Zodiac. As per some scholars the Abhijit Nakshatra is between 6 degree 40 minutes to 10 degree 53 minutes. This Nakshatra was before part of the Nakshatra System, which over the years have vanished due to reasons, which some suggest extreme goodness. The removal may be also as per the stories that if anything began when the Moon in the Abhijit Nakshatra, it can bring unparalleled success. However, after the merging of this Nakshatra in Uttara Asadha, the proposed views of the same is no longer valid. 

The mysteries of these Nakshatras are yet to be fully understood by me. By that I do not mean that I do not know or do not have a understanding of the Nakshatras, but there are lots and lots for me to learn. I’m always in my learning process and it never ends. 

The names of these 27 Nakshatras are: Ashwini Nakshatra, Bharani Nakshatra, Krittika Nakshatra, Rohini Nakshatra, Mrigasira Nakshatra, Ardra Nakshatra, Punarvasu Nakshatra, Pushya Nakshatra, Ashlesha Nakshatra, Magha Nakshatra, Purva Phalguni Nakshatra, Uttara Phalguni Nakshatra, Hasta Nakshatra, Chitra Nakshatra, Swati Nakshatra, Vishaka Nakshatra, Anuradha Nakshatra, Jyestha Nakshatra, Mula Nakshatra, Purva Ashadha Nakshatra, Uttara Ashadha Nakshatra (Abhijit Nakshatra merged), Shravana Nakshatra, Dhanishta Nakshatra, Shatabishak Nakshatra, Purva Bhadra Nakshatra, Uttara Bhadra Nakshatra, Revati Nakshatra.

In Veda, much importance was given to Fire energy, the reason being, it dissolves the bad karmic effects of human lives. Fire is pure and hence in Rig Veda, Fire is worshipped as ‘Agni Dev’. There are disastrous effect of Fire energy, if it is not controlled. The Nakshatra Krittika is ruled by Sun and it’s Lord is ‘Agni’. There are many things which these Nakshatras tell us and a very good analysis of a horoscope chart requires patience and deep analysis to forecast any event or to find the reason of one’s birth. 

This is all from me in this article. Hope you have liked my personal thoughts and opinions. 

The above small brief is a general prediction and my personal views which may not match with astrologers or others in the same or related sectors. I look forward to your comments. The above astrology article is based on my experience of reading astrology subject and looking into the practicalities of the situation based on horoscope analysis for years.

Mainak Majumdar, Astrologer
Only for Astrology Consultation please Email:
Blog Web Page:
Follow Me At Twitter on Astrology:

FEEDBACK FORM – It only takes 10 Seconds. Your Inputs Are Very Important

Leave a Reply